Databases and Electronic Resources

If you are not sure which database suits your needs, this information will help you.

Academic Search Complete

Quick Start User Guide

Contains 9100 full text journals, 7900 of them peer reviewed. Also includes indexing and abstracting for 13600 journals. Covers a wide range of disciplines and was designed specifically for academic institutions.

Business Source Complete

Quick Start User Guide

EBSCO Business Source Complete contains 2200 journals in full text including the full text of Harvard Business Review.  Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central is a collection of over 100,000 electronic books. It was formally known as ebrary. Ebook central uses single sign on and should recognise your details from your computer login (on campus) or your ezproxy login (off campus).

You will have to move your bookshelf. The instructions on how to do this are very clear on the website. Just click on the login or bookshelf button and the instructions will walk you through the process.

View How to Videos

View Help FAQs

EBSCOhost E-books

A small collection of individually purchased e-books

Emerald

Quick Start User Guide

Emerald provides access to full text articles from over 100 business, management and quality journals.

End Note Online

End Note Web is a tool that lets you organize your references.

Endnote Online Quickstart Guide

Endnote Online Exporting/Importing Quickstart Guide

Endnote Cite While You Write Quickstart Guide

IEEE Xplore

Database of scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

Quick Start Guide to IEEE Xplore

IHS

Quick Start User Guide

Source for Health and Safety and Construction Information.

Irish Newspaper Archive

Large newspaper archive spanning 4 centuries. The archive includes national and regional newspapers. Contains the Sligo Champion from 1950 to the current date.

JSTOR

Quick Start User Guide

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Because the JSTOR database is an archive, the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) may not be available.

North South Child Protection Hub

Quick Start User Guide

This database contains information for Irish professional communities. It has research documents in the field of child protection. NSCPH also contains policy and guidance documents, a forum, and conference and events information.

OECD iLibrary Education Section

Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). "From ready-made tables to interactive databases, from "at a glance publications" to full reports". Please note that the Yeats Library only subscribes to the Education Section of iLibrary.

Regional Business News

Business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires. Most sources have audio.(downloadable and in different languages)

Full Title List

Science Direct

Quick Start User Guide

Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering and business and humanities journals published by Elsevier. There are added features such as online help and self- registration which now work on and off campus.

If you are on campus and you wish to register with Science Direct's personal accounts and alerting service please use this link. Registration should be fine off campus.

Standards - SAI Global

Full text access to NSAI, ISO, EN standards.  Select British Standards to add to the collection.

Registration Link for SAI Global (provides more user options - you must use your @itsligo email address)

Registration Help: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UrKyeuWhlps

Quick Start User Guide

Summon

Quick Start User Guide

Summon searches many of the Yeats Library databases as well as the Library catalogue in a single search.  It is a convenient way of checking if the library has information on a particular subject.  You can start your search for library information with Summon and then move on to individual databases or to the catalogue if you need to carry out a more detailed search.

Web of Science

Quick Start User Guide

Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Access to the Science Citation Index (1945-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

Westlaw

Quick Start User Guide

Westlaw.IE is the largest Irish collection of case reports with over 21,000 available online. It includes
Irish Law Reports Monthly, Employment Law Reports and the Irish Law Times Reports dating back to 1871. Westlaw.IE contains 5 individual modules: Case reports, Annotated statutes, Journals, Consolidated legislation and Current awareness.

Yeats Library Classic Catalogue

The library catalogue allows you to search all the print books in the library.

Quick Start User Guide

UK & Ireland Reference Centre

The database includes a number of popular regional publications, such as New StatesmanThe Times (London), The Irish TimesThe Sun, and The Daily Mail as well as international content from Consumer Reports, National Geographic, and Newsweek. There are also International Country Reports, CBS News transcripts , consumer reports, trade journals and magazines. Most sources have audio.(downloadable and in different languages)

Full Title List